Mathilde in Chambray

Don’t you find that your most recent make is always your favourite?

IMG_0111

Mathilde complete with creases!

I love this top! It’s my second go at a Mathilde from the amazing Tilly and the Buttons. I was equally pleased with my first attempt last year. In fact, it was one of the first garments I made when I dusted off my sewing machine. I was very taken with the pleats on the front of the bodice, and the buttons down the back are a lovely style detail. I didn’t alter the pattern for my first attempt. It was a big enough feat to download and assemble a PDF pattern.

A year on and I felt ready to make the pattern my own. Whilst I loved the original, I didn’t think I suited the full sleeves and the straight bodice looked rather boxy. So I took the plunge and drafted cap sleeves using the original arm scythe as a guide. I also took out the fullness in the bodice and reshaped it at the waist based upon my measurements. Finally, I lowered the front neckline. I am so happy with the fit. Perhaps this will give me the courage to attempt more complicated alterations…

IMG_0133

Mathilde button back detail

The instructions were so easy to follow. Tilly’s clear and concise writing style made this pattern accessible to sewists with basic skills. The sense of satisfaction I had after making version one was off the scale.

I had been on the lookout for some cotton chambray, so when I found this at Simply Fabrics in Brixton I snapped up 3 metres. You will be seeing it again! The guy in the shop told me that it was Paul Smith shirting. Not bad for £3 per metre! The fabric was beautiful to work with. It pressed well and really holds the pleats. I think the colour makes it look classic.

IMG_0155

Now, what should I do with the rest of that chambray? Any thoughts?

10 thoughts on “Mathilde in Chambray

  1. Pingback: Mathilde with Butterflies | Sew South London

  2. Pingback: A Liberty Mathilde | Sew South London

  3. Pingback: It’s my Top 5 of 2014! | Sew South London

  4. Pingback: Bonnies by the Bunch! | Sew South London

  5. Pingback: Packing the Stash | Sew South London

  6. Pingback: Inari Tee Dress | Sew South London

Leave a Reply

