Woodland Stroll Cape in Red

What’s the first thing you think of making on a sweltering hot day? An autumn cape! Was it a coincident that the bedtime book of the moment was Little Red Riding Hood? I genuinely didn’t twig until it was made!

Woodland Stroll CapeI had been craving a cape for the past two winters, but hadn’t got as far as scouring the shops for one. When I saw this Woodland Stroll Cape by Oliver & S, it was love at first sight. This is the first item of outer-wear I’ve made, and it was so simple – just three pattern pieces plus lining.

Red Woodland Stroll Cape

I toyed with making it in a sensible, work-friendly colour, but in the end it had to be red. What’s more gloomy and depressing in the depths of winter than a sea of dark-clad commuters? I found this synthetic Melton online from Calico Laine and bought matching polyester lining. I don’t usually buy fabric online as I much prefer to shop with my hands. I was trying to manage my expectations over the colour, so was very pleasantly surprised when it arrived. This was another super-quick make, which was just as well as I had the denim beignet hanging over me!

Red Woodland Stroll CapeI’m wearing it here over my striped Coco by Tilly and the Buttons. It’s surprisingly warm to wear. Well, not that surprising considering it’s synthetic on synthetic! Am I the only person in South London praying for a cold snap?

12 thoughts on “Woodland Stroll Cape in Red

Leave a Reply

