Next Up: The Emery Dress

I’m limbering up for a big one – The Emery Dress by Christine Haynes. It’s a classic, and I’ve seen so many lovely versions. I particularly covet this Christmas cracker by Paunnet and this gorgeous wool plaid one from Fancy Tiger Crafts.

The only trouble is, I’m yet to really get to grips with serious alterations. But I think I’m up to the challenge. This time, I’m going to have to make a full toile first to see – a true test of patience. I made a couple of dresses last year when I’d just got started that would have really benefitted from an FBA (full bust adjustment). I learned the hard way that the end results are always a little disappointing without a perfect fit. With an increase in confidence and a side order of extra patience, I think it’s time. It seems a bit bonkers to be nervous of a bit of snipping, doesn’t it?!

I’ve got some gorgeous denim linen from The Little Fabric Store in Louth (seen in the background). It’s quite a girly dress, with its fitted bodice and full skirt, so I figured an Autumn version in a denim linen mix would toughen it up a little.

Have you ever really stretched yourself with a make?

7 thoughts on “Next Up: The Emery Dress

  1. Pingback: Hello Emery. I love you! | Sew South London

Leave a Reply

