Hello Emery. I love you!

 

Emery Dress

Dear reader, I truly believe I’ve found ‘The One’!

Never in my wildest sewing dreams (and there have been some…!) did I ever think I would find a pattern that could result in a dress love-affair as perfect as this.

Emery Dress

It’s everything I wanted in a dress – feminine, figure flattering, yet modern and unfussy. The fabric is to die for: buttery, soft, and with a delicious weight to it. It’s a denim-linen mix from The Little Fabric Store – a gorgeous sewing haven on a cobbled lane in Louth. Thank goodness I bought big – there’s another autumn’s dress-worth left over.

In a short time, we’ve been through a lot together, Emery and I. As promised, I followed the FBA tutorial that was part of the Emery Sewalong. This was by far the best and most detailed tutorial I have found, with each step clearly explained. And it worked! FBA – flippin’ brilliant achievement!

Emery FBA

Emery FBA – white paper showing where room was added

I began with a size 8 pattern piece (US sizes, that is) and added 3cm. No sooner said than done, the ‘ladies’ found themselves in the comfort to which they deserve. However, the waist was too narrow so I graded up a size from the bust dart down to the waist and that did the trick. I seriously expected to end up with a heap of ill-fitting bodices on the road to perfection, but managed it in one, with a bit of unpicking and re-pinning.

Emery toile

Well the bust fits…

But as you can see, although it fitted well on the bust and waist, it was still too baggy around the ribs. So I went up a size at the bust and waist, and still had to take it in at the side seams. Confused? I still am! I’ve ended up with a fit that I’m happy with, but I wonder whether next time to start with a size 10 and see if it requires less fitting. Any thoughts?

Emery Dress

I didn’t want to hinder the drape of this gorgeous fabric so I omitted a lining, instead used bias binding on the waist seam for tidiness and to add strength. I finished the neckline with self-drafted facings.

It’s been a rollercoaster of a love affair – the highs of mastering an alteration, the lows of finding that it’s still not as perfect as I’d hope. Like any developing relationship there’s always a few issues to iron out. I’ve got a slight gape at the back of the neckline which I’ve found on other dresses I’ve made. I’m hoping to tackle it on the next version. But for now, I’m more than thrilled!

 

21 thoughts on “Hello Emery. I love you!

  1. This is pretty Spesh- I can see why you love it! I’m dying to make the Emery (it’s actually the second Gift-To-Me pattern for when I complete the next two patterns in my challenge. Must get a move on!)

    Like

    • Aw, thank you! I am happy with it but, as every perfectionist knows, there’s always room for improvement! Trying the next size bodice for the next one… Hoping for a less ‘anatomically correct’ fit!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Knitted Prawns and the Slow Burn Socks | Sew South London

  3. Pingback: The Shrinking Violet Emery | Sew South London

  4. Pingback: Laurel in Liberty | Sew South London

  5. Pingback: A Liberty Robe Sureau | Sew South London

  6. Pingback: A Denim-Linen Sureau | Sew South London

  7. Pingback: Desert Island Sewing | Sew South London

  8. Pingback: Inari Tee Dress | Sew South London

Leave a Reply

