Mathilde with Butterflies

Mathilde

I can’t claim this make as a recent one – but I really wanted to share it with you. The London summer seems to be drawing to a premature end, so I wore my first-born Mathilde last week and remembered how much I love it. You know when you have an outfit that really represents the essence of your personal style – for me: strong colours, skinny jeans, a mum-tum concealing top…

MathildeAs I wrote here about my second Mathilde, I was drawn to this pattern by the lovely pleats and button-back. It was the first detailed pattern I attempted, after re-cutting my teeth on the Colette Sorbetto. The sewing world had moved one somewhat from my first experience of dressmaking, some 20 years ago: the instant gratification of downloadable PDF patterns; super cute independent pattern companies; masses of inspirational blogs; fabulous fabric shops. So a big thanks to Tilly and the Buttons for reigniting the passion for the simple art of stitching!

MathildeThe fabric’s another super-duper find from Simply Fabrics. The light was failing when I took these snaps, but nonetheless I wanted to capture an outfit that makes me ridiculously happy!

9 thoughts on “Mathilde with Butterflies

  1. Pingback: A Liberty Mathilde | Sew South London

  2. Pingback: Bonnies by the Bunch! | Sew South London

Leave a Reply

