Laurel in Liberty

IMG_0347

Hola Stitchers! While I’m beavering away on my next make, I thought I’d catch up on a couple of makes from earlier in the year. May I introduce….. a Liberty print Laurel! This Colette pattern must be on every novice sewist’s list. It was on mine, and came in my Christmas stocking, courtesy of my fab sister-in-law, Lou. Regular readers might recall that this Liberty Tana Lawn in Mitzi has already made it’s blog debut in the form of a lovely Belcarra. I carefully conserved every shred of this gorgeous fabric, and managed to get a Laurel and a Belcarra out of 2 metres (with enough left over for rag dolly dresses).

Colette Laurel

Being a bit of a chicken with sharp scissors and expensive fabric, I first made a toile of my Laurel, and then a version in denim (to be blogged). I was pleased to find that it was a good fit with no alterations required, but wasn’t entirely happy with the flare of the shift dress. So I wielded my French Curve and narrowed the fit of the skirt slightly from the hips to the hem. I know the point of a shift dress is to have a loose fit, but the original toile make me feel like I was wearing an oversized girl’s nightgown.

Colette Laurel

One of the most useful aspects of writing a blog is having the opportunity to reflect on the garment in question and to have a good look at the photos. Let’s just say I’m less happy with it now. And I loved this dress pre-blog. I was really proud of it when I made it and continue to love the fabric, which I had lined with cotton voile. I am assuming that taking the width out of the dress has resulting in the fabric pulling a little across my stomach, enhancing it rather than flattering it! I’m not sure I like the straight lines of a shift dress, which I know are intended to skim over the waist. Perhaps leaving the extra fabric in might have resulted in a more flattering cut? Am I being too harsh? I guess I’m just learning more about my own body type and understanding how different silhouettes flatter and enhance. Perhaps I’ve met my match in Mlle Emery. She’s definitely a girl’s girl!

9 thoughts on “Laurel in Liberty

  1. I always use a belt to improve the fit of a garment, might be worth trying… I’m totally with you on the journey of discovering what flatters via the photos I take for my blog. I thought I had pretty good idea anyway, but it’s definitely improving. Your fabric is lovely 🙂

    Like

  2. I think it looks fab. I know what you mean about some things feeling better than (you think) they look and if this dress feels good to wear it will look good too. Which size did you make? Would love to see your denim version too.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Dahlia: The One That Got Away! | Sew South London

  4. Pingback: Conquering Plaid: A Laurel Blouse | Sew South London

  5. Pingback: A Laurel for the Tropics | Sew South London

  6. Pingback: Top 5 of 2015: The Hits | Sew South London

Leave a Reply

