A Liberty Robe Sureau

Deer & Doe Sureau

I may have found my new, most favourite pattern – the Deer & Doe Robe Sureau. This blustery, autumnal weather requires a lovely trans-seasonal frock in dark floral to wear with woolly tights and leather boots.  What better fabric to use than this delicious Liberty Tana Lawn in Edenham Navy, which I was shocked to find at Simply Fabrics. Being somewhat thrifty (and wanting to buy a whole stack of other Liberty bargains) I only bought 1.5 metres. This turned out to be just enough to cut the pattern, minus one sleeve.  So I had to track down another piece from Shaukat. If you have never been, and have a weakness for Liberty, this place is truly amazing.

Liberty Robe SureauWe are well-served in this part of South London for fabulous sewing supplies and venues. Afterall we have the SewOverIt Sewing Cafe, the Tilly and The Buttons HQ for sewing workshops, the ever fabulous and unpredictable Simply Fabrics and the hidden gem that is The Wimbledon Sewing Machine Shop in Tooting Bec. Yet, when overcome with the urge to buy buttons on a Sunday, the only place I could find south of the river was Morley’s in Brixton, which has a decent haberdashery. I was pretty happy in the end with these lovely vintage-style floral buttons but it took me a looooooong time to decide.

Sureau ButtonAfter the success of getting a good fit on my Emery dresses (here and here) I made up a toile bodice for the Sureau in a size 40, grading the waist out to a 42. Despite Deer & Doe drafting for a B cup, this combo seemed to yield the perfect fit, so no further fitting was required. The neckline has a tendency to gape, which was something I’d read about in a few different blogs. I’m not sure if it’s because I stretched the neckline out when i top-stitched it, or whether I need to follow Paunnet’s tutorial for a gapey neckline from the Sureau Sewalong for my next version. It always takes a few goes to perfect these garments!  I’m so happy with the finished garment – it’s got a lovely vintagey feel to it. The skirt isn’t as full as the Emery, so I don’t feel quite so much as though I’m going to work in fancy dress!

Deer & Doe Sureau

21 thoughts on “A Liberty Robe Sureau

  1. Pingback: A Frocktober Sureau | The Monthly Stitch

  2. The fabric and the pattern combine to make a really lovely dress. I love the colours too. Where do you get Deer and Doe patterns from? I have only just become aware of these patterns and would like to buy some. I don’t know about you but I prefer to buy a paper pattern rather than download one.
    Don’t forget Rolls and Rems in Lewisham which is also open on a Sunday. RayStitch is within reach on the East London Line if you have the time to get there.

    Like

    • Thanks for the reminder of Rolls & Rems. I must check it out. I bought the Deer & Doe patterns online and they shipped them from France. They don’t seem to have many UK suppliers, but delivery was fast. Well worth a couple of days wait.

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Blog Hop Stops in South London! | Sew South London

  4. Pingback: It’s my Top 5 of 2014! | Sew South London

  5. Pingback: A Denim-Linen Sureau | Sew South London

  6. Pingback: Denim Never Dies: A Denim Linen Sureau | The Monthly Stitch

Leave a Reply

