Conquering Plaid: A Laurel Blouse

Colette Patterns Laurel in PlaidI admit it: I’m procrastinating! I am supposed to be busy tackling my terrifying party frock (deadline 12 Dec), but something about the Dahlia debacle has left me determined to create a garment in plaid that I’m happy with. I bought this fabric at the same time as the Dahlia plaid. It’s a close relative: brushed cotton, soft and cosy.

I was very taken with Rachel of House of Pinheiro’s recent Laurel in plaid. In a shameless act of plagiarism flattery I decided that this was the perfect pattern for a quick and satisfying make, and I was keen to revisit the alterations I made to the skirt of my last Laurel, which had resulted in it being too snug across the stomach.

On reflection, my wardrobe had become increasingly full of dresses but there’s a gap when it comes to off-duty tops to wear with jeans. So here’s the answer: a really simple blouse from the Colette Laurel pattern, cut as size 8 with no alterations. What better use for this lovely fabric! I love it! If it washes well, I think I might just have to treat myself to a dress version too!

Colette Patterns Lauren Plaid

20 thoughts on “Conquering Plaid: A Laurel Blouse

  1. Pingback: A Laurel for the Tropics | Sew South London

Leave a Reply

