It’s my Top 5 of 2014!

Top 5 2014 #sewingtop5

There’s no time like the end of the year for some peaceful reflection/anxious soul-searching, so I was keen to participate in Crafting a Rainbow’s Top 5 of 2014. This year’s been a cracker on the sewing front. After a year of making clothes, I took the plunge in July and decided to stop boring my nearest & dearest with the offspring of my Janome and instead let them run free and wild on the internet. Since then, I’ve grown my little backyard plot of cyberspace into a happy place with some lovely new internet chums.

So without further ado, here goes… The Hits:

Clockwise from top left, this Tilly & The Buttons Mathilde in chambray was an early make and has been well-loved. It must have been beginners’ luck as my pattern moderations resulted in a slimmer fit and short sleeves with no tears shed. Oh, and did I mention that it appeared on Tilly’s blog?!

I’ve made four Colette Moneta dresses, including the polka dot and black ones shown here (the polka dot snap also proves that I do occasionally step away from the fireplace!). There’s something about this pattern which results in a perfect fit and finish every time. It also represents my early foray into sewing with knits. I have worn all four versions as many times as it’s polite to, without people wondering if you ever wash your clothes!

That just leaves my Emery in crazy loud £3 fabric, and the Sureau in Liberty Tana Lawn. I spent considerable time getting the fit right on both of these, and it paid off. I have to remind myself of this when I’m in the grip of a sewing frenzy and am desperate to get to the finish line.

So it’s a frock-heavy selection. Next year I’ve vowed to make more casual clothes so I can incorporate handmade in my non-work life. I’m already dreaming of a corduroy Grainline Moss skirt, a chambray Archer, a denim-linen Sureau and of course some Ultimate Trousers. After seeing some fabulous Bluegingerdoll Bonnie sweaters by Handmade Jane, Kelly of Make Sew Do, and Marie of A Stitching Odyssey I am lusting after one of my own.

So those are the Hits. Next up: The Misses!

What were your Hits of 2014?

 

 

10 thoughts on “It’s my Top 5 of 2014!

  1. What a lovely array of frocks 🙂 I’m looking forward to attempting a Moneta too, yours are really great! With the exception of a couple of things for work, it’s casual wear all the way for me next year.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top 5 of 2015: The Misses | Sew South London

Leave a Reply

