Single White Female in South London: Thimberlina’s GBSB dress!

IMG_0398

Lucky lucky me! I have a dress to blog about today that I can take no credit for. Last week, Thimberlina posted about her GBSB drapey dress, and how she wasn’t entirely happy with the finished garment. The consensus from her readers was that although it was an interesting design, it wasn’t massively wearable due to its Humpty-Dumpty-esque design. I couldn’t disagree more! Despite its egg-like proportions, It was love at first sight! So, Thimberlina very kindly sent it down to South London for me to rehome it, and maybe even remodel it. If you haven’t come across this dress, it’s from The Great British Sewing Bee: Fashion With Fabric, published to accompany this year’s TV series.

IMG_0412Wearing someone else’s hand-made dress reminded me of the 1992 film ‘Single White Female’, where creepy new housemate takes stalking to a whole new level altering her appearance to look like her host. Am I showing my age here? Sorry, Thimbelina. I hope this isn’t too disturbing to read about! I won’t be moving to Yorkshire just yet (sadly).

There’s really very little to say about the dress. Thimberlina described the construction process in her post. I was going to consider whether to make any alterations. But the truth is I just love it the way it is! My daughters have nick-named it The Moon Dress for obvious reasons! I’ve worn it here with black tights and my trusty white Church’s brogues. From the photos, it looks like I might have static issues.

IMG_0417I will try to force myself to hem it before I wear it to work next week, and will come up with a suitable retort for those asking whether I’m expecting again! Having seen the photos, I think Thimberlina’s right about the hands-in-pockets pose being most flattering!

A huge thank you to Thimberlina for sending me a gorgeous dress and for doing all the hard work. There’s definitely wardrobe space for this dress in my house!

26 thoughts on “Single White Female in South London: Thimberlina’s GBSB dress!

  1. I think it looks absolutely gorgeous on you! I’ve admired the dress from afar (especially Karen/Didyoumakethat’s version) but would never make it myself as it’s the complete opposite of my style. You totally rock it though, especially with the brogues! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Prolific Project Starter | Some you win, some you lose

  3. Pingback: #SundaySevens week 55 (me 30) | T H I M B E R L I N A

  4. Pingback: Top 3’s of 2015 | T H I M B E R L I N A

  5. Pingback: Thank you Yorkshire Spoolettes!! | Sew South London

Leave a Reply

