A Birthday Bettine 

Can you believe it’s been a whole year since I decided to join the online sewing community and start a little blog of my own? I can’t tell you how much pleasure, friendship and general sewing knowledge and experience I’ve gained along the way. But then if you’re a blog reader or writer, you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about!


Despite my anxiety over being separated from my sewing machine for a few months, I had been happily enjoying my sewing sabbatical. That was until I saw Tilly and The Buttons’ new sewing pattern – The Bettine. As I saw my Instagram feed fill up with Bettines, my eye was caught by this gorgeous number by Meg of Cookin’ and Craftin’ and I knew this was the dress for me.  Social media can be blamed for many things, but its ability to compel you into action is phenomenal!

I was on holiday in Hong Kong when the pattern was released, so I swung into action with a special trip to Sham Shui Po, Hong Kong’s fabric and garment district on the look out for viscose/rayon. Here’s what I found! I didn’t want to wish away the rest of the holiday, but by the end I was losing sleep thinking about getting stuck in!
I studied the pattern sizing and went for a size 5 on the top and graded down to a 4 at the hips, hoping that I hadn’t needed to do a FBA. I also added 2cm to the skirt length, noting other bloggers were finding it a tad short. I was a little nervous as to whether the elastic waistline and blousy fit would be flattering or whether I would prefer a more tailored look. I was really pleased with how it turned out – there’s not too much ease on the hip and the viscose drapes beautifully. It’s the perfect hot weather work dress and was a lovely simple garment to ease me back into making my own wardrobe. In this climate I’m wearing dresses most of the time and I need more! I love my Bettine and I’m looking forward to see all of yours next weekend on Instagram #sewingbettine!

32 thoughts on “A Birthday Bettine 

  1. Your bettine looks very dressy and perfect for work or play! You’re looking a bit shy on the pics – not like the smiley ones in front if your stunning fire place. Or is it a new demure look? Loving the skyline back drop. 😎

    Like

  2. I will officially never forgive my family for not letting me fabric shop in Hong Kong!!! That fabric is gorgeous!!
    I was afraid of the Bettine being to shapeless too but from all the blog pictures I’ve seen it really goes with loads of different figures. It looks so good in the draping fabric. Did you get the Fifi too? I’m so tempted!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is really lovely, one of the nicest versions of the pattern I’ve seen. I especially like the fit on you, sadly I cocked up when choosing which size to sew and mine turned out too small. I should have sewn the exact size as you – Doh! The fabric is gorgeous too by the way, I think rayon/viscose works particular well with this pattern. x
    PS. Happy blog birthday! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! It was an emotional reunion. The over locker is in the naughty corner as I’ve had all manner of broken thread and needles since it was unpacked. At least it’s forced me to learn to re-thread!

      Like

  4. Only just stumbled across this one. I’d dismissed this as too shapeless too, but you’ve totally made it work and I’m now very tempted. It drapes really well and looks perfect for hot weather 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: Adventures in Viscose! | Sew South London

Leave a Reply

