Adventures in Viscose!

I’m sorry, where? Doesn’t my life sound exciting? Viscose, eh?  The truth is, it is quite exciting at the moment. I’m getting around the region and exploring, but I’m not finding a great deal of time to sew.


I’m also finding it nigh-on impossible to get half-decent blog photos. Either the light’s too strong or low, or I’m trying to prevent small people falling in swimming pools, or I am relying on the same small people to take said photos (see Instagram for a particularly ropey selection). I’m falling a little behind with blogging new outfits as a result.


I’ve also been thinking about what I sew and why. With so little free time I have to really be committed to my choices. I have reverted to sewing simple patterns that place the fabric centre-stage and don’t take up too much brain power. Most importantly they have to fill a gap in my wardrobe. I’m wary of falling into the trap of making more and more without taking time to appreciate and wear the clothes I’ve already made.


In an earlier post I wrote about how much I loved my first Bettine by Tilly and the Buttons. I was very taken with the viscose I had bought in Hong Kong. The drape was great and it was so cool to wear in the heat. I went on a mission to find more and bought two tropical fabrics from Spotlight – a huge Australian craft superstore. My second Bettine was born!


I lengthened the skirt by an inch or so in order not to offend the conservative locals. I was still almost refused access to a public building for gratuitous knee-baring, but managed to talk them around! I thought I had done with Bettine, but already I’m thinking about a cotton chambray number….

15 thoughts on “Adventures in Viscose!

  1. What a great print! Gorgeous colours. You’re right about being more considerate of wardrobe choices – all too often I get caught up on making the next new exciting thing when actually I might need more simple classics. This dress looks great on you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a lovely combination – a post full of wisdom mixed with some frivolous photos. The fabric is lovely. I think I must be the only person who has not yet succumbed to the charms of Bettine. Sounds like you are really settling in and having fun. It is a glorious autumnal weekend here – gorgeous sunlight already. Would be great for taking blog photos but the return to work has been intense and I have not made anything!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love viscose just now – perfect for hotter climates (not currently needed here). The print is lovely too. I am also hoping to be more organised about what I make this autumn so hopefully I end up with things I will get lots of wear out of

    Louise

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

