A Festive Belcarra

Happy almost-Christmas, people! I did make a festive dress for myself from a lovely rich purple viscose. It was the Cynthia Rowley Simplicity 2406 pattern and should have been a cute little party dress. Instead it turned out like a cassock and henceforth shall be known as ‘The Big Purple One’ in honour of everyone’s favourite Quality Street! I don’t have a lot of luck with ‘special event’ dresses – for evidence of last year’s see my birthday Donna Karan number!   

So a quick and satisfying make was in order!  I had bought this glorious Japanese cotton lawn on a lunchtime visit toSpotlight, the Australian craft superstore. Irrespective of what’s on my shopping list, Spotlight always comes up with the goods.   

 
With such a bold print, I wanted a simple shape, so dug out my trusty Sewaholic Belcarra pattern. It’s got lovely raglan sleeves with cuffs, and a nice hourglass shape. I get a lot of wear out of my Liberty version. As with earlier versions I needed to grade the side seams down a couple of inches from the waist to the hem. Sewaholic produce patterns for pear-shaped ladies and there was a bit of excess I needed to remove. I’m really pleased with this version. It will get a lot of wear, particularly to work with my culottes.

 
 I’m determined to get the Big Purple One photographed, if only for my Top 5 Misses of 2015. It’s not that bad now it’s been altered, but still makes me feel like a choir boy! Happy Christmas. X

  

23 thoughts on “A Festive Belcarra

  1. Your posts always make me smile…….the big purple one!! You’re so funny! Glad to see you kept your sewing mojo and despite the fail, this fabric is a perfect match for the belcarra. Looks so bright and cheery!
    Happy Christmas to you and your family, hope you all have a wonderful time. šŸŒ²šŸŒ²šŸŒ²šŸŒ²šŸŒ²šŸŒ²

    Liked by 2 people

      • Ooo…. good luck!! I’d definitely add a little bit to the bodice, I just used the width of a ruler cos it was easier than measuring and it was spot on. The sway back adj I did I love as it makes it hug my lower back. Are you going straight or gathered for the skirt? šŸ˜€

        Like

      • Gathered! I don’t find the straight skirts too flattering now I’ve got no waistline. But I’m definitely going to do the swayback on this and my belated Christmas dress (for 2016)! It makes sense if the front bodice has to navigate some bumps to reach the waistline, the back’s going to look longer!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The big purple one is my favourite Quality Street so I’m very much looking forward to that post! Well done for getting straight back on the horse and producing this top because it’s stunning! I really like the shape of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the Belcarra print – I still need to revisit this one – it looks great on you. Looking forward to seeing The Big Purple One – I made a toile for a new dress and it looked fairly awful so I have abandoned Christmas dress making in disgust! Hoe you have a lovely Christmas!

    Louise

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

