Top 5 of 2015: The Misses

 And where there are highs there must be lows! Here’s my second post in Gillian of Crafting a Rainbow’s annual roundup of sewing hits and misses. I’m unwilling to call these garments fails as I think that contributes to an unhealthy obsession with achieving perfection. There’s no failure in honing skills. Let’s just say that each of these garments taught me something about pattern choices. And there’s only three!

Maxi Moneta

IMG_1483
I don’t know what to say about this dress. I am deeply in love with my black Moneta, which featured in my Top 5 last year. Over the summer I saw a number of maxi dresses, including this gorgeous Moneta hack by Cashmerette. I had some black jersey and decided I would have one too. What resulted was a dress I lived and wore regularly until I saw the photos I took for the blog….. I still wear it most weekends so it’s not such a massive miss. it’s just not a very flattering outfit, compared to my favourite black Moneta. It does feel like you’re going to the shops in your nightie. Is that such a fail?!

The Big Purple One

  
As discussed (at length) over the festive period, this Simplicity 2406 (code named The Big Purple One after the people’s favourite Quality Street) just didn’t turn out as envisaged. It’s not a bad frock, just a bit shapeless for my style. Now I’m halfway through reading Fit For Real People I’ve got a much better understanding of the Big 4 pattern companies’ sizing. I would have started smaller. Noted for next time.

Bluegingerdoll Violet Dress

violet

There’s not a lot to say here. Wrong. Shape. Totally the wrong shape for me. I tried to be cute by combining two different pontes. It just looked wrong. I’d love to know where it is now after I donated it to charity earlier this year!

 In Loving Memory…

 Polka Dot Moneta
I couldn’t sign off without paying respect to my beloved polka dot Moneta, who has passed on to the great textile recycling bin in the sky. I suspect the cheap fabric was at fault as the dress began to ladder along the seams. This was my first Moneta. Gone but not forgotten.

 

17 thoughts on “Top 5 of 2015: The Misses

  1. There will always be some things that just don’t turn out as well as you hoped – but it is all a learning experience! I dont think any of them are total disasters at all! Love the polka dot Moneta – my blue one has been worn a lot and is looking a little pilled so I may need another too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

